Seventh Framework Programme
You are here: ConsortiumPartnersUPV/EHU
username (*)
password (*)
Forgot your password?

Universidad del Pais Vasco/Euskal Herriko Unibertsitatea

Partner 6: University of the Basque Country - from month 17 to month 36

The University of the Basque Country ( is a teaching and research institution officially founded in 1985. It is at the helm of Research, Development and Innovation in the Basque Autonomous Community in Northern Spain. It employs more than 7.000 people throughout 31 faculties, which are distributed in several campuses over in the three provinces of the Basque Community: Biscay, Gipuzkoa and Alava. The University of the Basque Country has been recognised as International Excellence Campus by the Spanish Government. In 2012, for the first time, it broke onto the Shangai ranking and became consolidated as one of the Spanish seven best universities.
Most of the research projects in the University of the Basque Country are in the field of Nanosciences, Nanotechnologies, Materials and new production technologies followed by projects in the area of Information and Communication Technologies and Health.
The research for ACMOL will carried out within the Nano-Bio Spectroscopy Group (, one of the world leading groups in the field of computational condensed matter physics and chemistry and in the development of novel methods and computer programs to address properties of materials. The Nano-Bio Spectroscopy Group is hosted in the Gipuzkoa Campus in Donostia-San Sebastian at the centre of an exceptional scientific setting (called “Ibaeta Valley”). Over the last several years, the major effort of the Spanish and Basque governments to build an attractive and active research environment in San Sebastian has resulted in four complementary multidisciplinary research facilities close to each other: 1) The Faculty of Chemistry of the University of the Basque Country, 2) the “Materials Physics Center” ( of the Agencia Estatal Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas (CSIC), 3) the Basque Center for Nanoscience ( that runs experimental research in magnetism, optics, supramolecular chemistry and bio-medical applications, and 4) The Donostia International Physics Center (, a foundation to promote scientific exchange among groups and with society.


e-mail (*)
insert in the following section the sum of the two numbers.: